Joint Council

The Joint Tribal Council of the Passamaquoddy Tribe is represented by the Tribal governing bodies from both Pleasant Point and from Indian Township.

When the two reservation governing bodies meet together it is called the Joint Tribal Council. This is the governing body for the Passamaquoddy Tribe in the United States.

The Joint Tribal Council consists of two Chiefs, two Vice Chiefs and twelve Council members.

Chiefs Pos Bassett PP,
Ernie Neptune PP;

Chiefs William Nicholas IT;
Vice Chiefs Joe Socobasin IT  

Council for Pleasant Point:
Hilda Lewis,
Shirely Mitchell,
Cyril Francis,
Melissa Francis,
Ryan Currier,
Dylan Francis.

Council for  Indian Township Council:
Alexander Nicholas I,
Wade Lola,
Richard Sabattus I,
Roger Socobasin,
Matthew Dana II,
Mihku Sabattus

Currently there is no Joint Tribal Council office. Communications should be directed to the local Tribal Governments at the respective reservations.

The Joint Tribal Council does administer certain programs and activities such as:
Tribal Historic Preservation Office
Language Preservation
Salt Water Fisheries

Joint Council Resolutions:
June 12, 1996 Joint Council Resolution
Explains the authority of each Reservation’s Government